Yahoo Employee Foundation

The Yahoo Employee Foundation (YEF) is a philanthropic organization representing our unique way of doing good, operating at scale and amplifying the voice of our employees. YEF provides Yahoo employees an opportunity to pool their resources in an effort to affect the causes most important to them. These include Animal Welfare, Environment, Family & Community Building and Youth & Education. Since YEF, a corporate advised fund of Silicon Valley Community Foundation, was founded in 1999, we have granted $25 million to over 1000 non-profit organizations globally.

How YEF Works

YEF is a giving circle powered by Yahoo employees who donate, champion and make decisions about how YEF funds are distributed. All funding decisions are made by the YEF Board, on behalf of YEF members who are trained how to evaluate grants that represent diverse causes employees care about.

We’ve found that Yahoo employees are connected with many worthy organizations in their communities, so we use YEF funds to amplify their work. We’re extremely proud of how we operate YEF and know that it’s different from most corporate responsibility programs. YEF represents our core values of doing good and operating at a huge scale. Moreover, it exemplifies the good that is within our employees and radiates it to the world.

2016 Grant Recipients​

Organization State / Province City Website
Adolescent Counseling Services (ACS) CA Redwood City www.acs-teens.org
Advokids CA Corte Madera www.advokids.org
ALearn CA Santa Clara www.alearn.org
America SCORES Bay Area CA San Francisco www.americascoresbayarea.org
Art in Action CA Menlo Park www.artinaction.org
Asian Health Services CA Oakland www.asianhealthservices.org
Autism Partnership Foundation CA Seal beach www.autismpartnershipfoundation.org
Berkeley Humane CA Berkeley www.berkeleyhumane.org
Black Girls CODE CA Oakland www.blackgirlscode.org
Boldly Me CA Fremont www.boldlyme.org
BONNIE J ADDARIO A BREATH AWAY FROM THE CURE FOUNDATION CA San Carlos www.lungcancerfoundation.org
Camfed USA Foundation California San Francisco www.camfed.org
Canine Companions for Independence (CCI) CA Santa Rosa www.cci.org
Caring Matters Now Dublin Malahide www.caringmattersnow.co.u
Castro Country Club CA San Francisco www.castrocountryclub.org
Centrepoint London London www.centrepoint.org
Centro Legal de la Raza CA Oakland www.centrolegal.org
Choral Arts Ensemble of Portland OR Portland www.portlandschoir.org
City Harvest NY New York www.cityharvest.org
Clintondale Community Schools Michigan Clinton Township www.seatwaitingforyou.com
www.flippedhighschool.com
Coalition for Queens New York Long Island City www.c4q.nyc
Community Technology Network (CTN) CA San Francisco www.ctnbayarea.org
DC Central Kitchen DC Washington www.dccentralkitchen.org
Don Moyer Boys & Girls Club IL Champaign www.dmbgc.org
Early Alert Canines (EAC) CA Concord www.EarlyAlertCanines.org
East Bay Community Law Center CA Berkeley www.ebclc.org
Eastern Ilinois Foodbank Illinois Urbana www.eifoodbank.org
Edgewood Center for Children and Families CA San Francisco www.edgewood.org
Elevate Tutoring CA San Jose www.elevatetutoring.org
Family Supportive Housing, Inc. CA San Jose www.familysupportivehousing.org
Figure Skating in Harlem, Inc. CA New York www.figureskatinginharlem.org
First Exposures (FX) CA San Francisco www.firstexposures.org/
Fontenelle Forest CA Bellevue www.fontenelleforest.org/natural-resources/raptor
Foundation for a College Education CA - California East Palo Alto www.collegefoundation.org
Friends of Chikumbuso CT North Stonington www.chikumbuso.com
Ganet Adventure School NA London www.ganetsadventureschool.org
God's Love We Deliver NY New York www.glwd.org
GreatNonprofits CA Redwood City www.greatnonprofits.org
GRID Alternatives CA Oakland www.gridalternatives.org
Habitat for Humanity of Champaign Country IL Champaign www.cuhabitat.org
Habitat for Humanity of Omaha NE Omaha www.habitatomaha.org
Hamilton Family Center CA San Francisco www.hamiltonfamilycenter.org/
HAND (Helping After Neonatal Death) of the Peninsula CA Redwood City www.handsupport.org
Hearts United for Animals NE Auburn www.hua.org
Hope Services CA San Jose www.hopservices.org
Humane Society Silicon Valley CA Milpitas www.hssv.org
Industry Initiatives for Science and Math Education (IISME) CA Santa Clara www.iisme.org
Inspiration Corporation IL Chicago www.inspirationcorp.org
It's On Us DC Washington www.itsonus.org
Kids X-Press CA White Plains www.kidsxpress.net
Kitchen Table Advisors CA Oakland www.kitchentableadvisors.org
Law Foundation of Silicon Valley CA San Jose www.lawfoundation.org
Little Kids Rock NJ Verona www.littlekidsrock.org
Loved Twice California Oakland www.lovedtwice.org
Madison Square Boys & Girls Club NY New York www.madisonsquare.or
Mentor Tutor Connection CA Los Altos www.mentortutorconnection.org
Mouse_California CA South San Francisco www.mousesquadca.org
Muddy Paws Second Chance Rescue IA Council Bluffs www.muddypawssecondchancerescue.com
Muttville Senior Dog Rescue CA San Francisco www.muttville.org
My New Red Shoes CA Redwood City www.mynewredshoes.org
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) Santa Clara County CA San Jose www.namisantaclara.org
National Alliance on Mental Illness, Santa Cruz County CA Capitola www.namiscc.org
National Trust for Historic Preservation DC Washington www.savingplaces.org
Nebraska Writers Collective NE Omaha www.newriters.org
Niroga Institute California Oakland www.niroga.or
Omaha Area Youth Orchestras, Inc. NE Omaha www.oayo.org
One Degree CA San Francisco www.1deg.org
Open Door Mission NE Omaha www.opendoormission.org
Open Learning Exchange MA Cambridge, www.ole.org
OVERSEAS VOLUNTEER FOR A BETTER INDIA INC CA Palo Alto www.overseasvbi.org
Parents Helping Parents CA San Jose www.php.com
Partnership for Drug-Free Kids NY New York www.drugfree.org
Pets In Need CA Redwood City www.petsinneed.org
Playworks CA Campbell www.norcal.playworks.org
Project Inform CA San Francisco www.projectinform.org
Purusha Seva Project CA San Francisco www.purushayoga.org
Reading to Kids CA Los Angeles www.readingtokids.org
Red Panda Network CA San Francisco www.redpandanetwork.org
Rejuvenating Women Nebraska Boys Town www.rejuvenatingwomen.com
Rescue From The Hart CA Lake Balboa www.rescuefromthehart.org
Ronald McDonald House Charities of Southern California (RMHCSC) CA Los Angeles www.rmhcs.org/camp
Samaritan House CA San Mateo www.samaritanhousesanmateo.org
San Francisco AIDS Foundation (SFAF) CA San Francisco www.sfaf.org
Sankara Eye Foundation CA Milpitas www.giftofvision.org
Santa Clara City Library Foundation & Friends CA Santa Clara www.lovethelibrary.org
Saving Innocence CA Los Angeles www.savinginnocence.org
Senior Adults Legal Assistance CA San Jose www.sala.org
Sewa International CA Houston www.sewausa.org
SF-Marin Food Bank CA San Francisco www.sfmfoodbank.org
Students Rising Above CA San Francisco www.studentsrisingabove.org
Students Run LA CA Tarzana www.srla.org
Technovation CA Los Angeles www.iridescentlearning.org
Teen Success, Inc. CA Milpitas www.teensuccess.org
Teens Exploring Technology (TXT) CA Los Angeles www.exploringtech.org
Tenderloin Community Benefit District CA San Francisco www.tenderloinsafepassage.org
www.tlcbd.org
The New York Public Library NY New York www.nypl.org
The One Love Foundation in Honor of Yeardley Love NY Bronxville www.joinonelove.org
The Painted Turtle CA Santa Monica www.thepaintedturtle.org
The Santa Cruz Lesbian And Gay Community Center (DBA: The Diversity Center of Santa Cruz County) CA Santa Cruz www.diversitycenter.org
The Tech Museum of Innovation California San Jose www.thetech.org
The Trevor Project California West Hollywoord www.thetrevorproject.org
Trikone CA San Francisco www.trikone.org
UCI Iowa Orange City www.ucihaiti.org
University of Illinois Laboratory High School IL Urbana www.uni.illinois.edu
Vellakovil Union School Education Fund CA Santa Clara  
Voices College-Bound Language Academy CA San Jose www.voicesacademies.org
War Child UK NA LONDON www.warchild.org.uk
World Bicycle Relief nfp IL Chicago www.worldbicyclerelief.org
YMCA of San Francisco, Chinatown Branch CA San Francisco www.ymcasf.org/chinatown
Youth Community Service CA Palo Alto www.youthcommunityservice.org
yahoo employee foundation logo

 

About The Yahoo Employee Foundation:

Founded by Yahoo employees in 1999 with leadership from David Filo and Jerry Yang, the Yahoo Employee Foundation is a grassroots, philanthropic organization that gives Yahoo employees easy and accessible ways to give back to their communities.

Check out our Life at Yahoo Tumblr for more info on YEF.


Press Inquires

Email: media@yahoo-inc.com

Phone: (408) 349-4040